Apprenticeship Pattern: The Long Road

This week I decided to take a look at ‘The Long Road’ apprenticeship pattern that covers the expectations and the reality of becoming a software craftsman. The pattern begins by explaining that society expects immediate results without really thinking about the journey. Usually one would aspire to take the highest-paying job and the first promotion as opposed to building up your skills. The pattern encourages you to value learning and long-term growth over salary and leadership positions. Keeping a long term goal in mind allows you to hone your skills as you work towards it. Of course this pattern is not for everyone, the long road is just one of many that a software developer can take on their journey.

Reflecting on what I read in the pattern, it is certainly more realistic to set a long term goal as opposed to trying to go for the high paying jobs immediately. I am definitely guilty of having the desire for overnight success. I agree that the biggest factor for this would be today’s culture and as well as my family’s expectations of me. But when it comes to software craftsmanship, I would like to spend more time accumulating knowledge instead of settling down and potentially stop improving. The only statement that stuck with me was, “Along the way, it is not unlikely that you will take on roles of power and responsibility or find yourself quite wealthy. However, these roles and benefits are not the main motivation of the successful apprentice—they are merely by-products of a lifelong journey.” I would say that I would probably not be ready for an executive job or being a team leader, but I can’t deny that money is one of the bigger motivators when it comes to working. That being said, you always have to start from somewhere, and I have much to learn. This pattern is more so a reminder for me to take the time to improve my skills and success and money will come after.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started